Due to increasing pressure from constituents, the Legislative Commission’s Subcommittee to Review Regulations refused to consider the Department of Motor Vehicle’s (DMV) proposed regulation to make REAL ID permanent in Nevada. Instead, the DMV agreed to present a new version of the regulation this Friday, April 23rd at 9am that would give Nevadans the opportunity to choose between REAL ID-compliant or non-compliant identification cards.

Unfortunately, the “revised” regulation is a red herring that does not extend any meaningful choice to Nevadans, as REAL ID-compliant IDs will become mandatory again in approximately one year (after June 1, 2011). Additionally, none of the privacy or due process concerns about REAL ID are addressed.

There will be a new Legislative Hearing on Wednesday, April 28th at 1pm. Please call or email members of the Subcommittee to urge them to vote against extending REAL ID in Nevada.

Let them know the following:
I do not support any form of REAL ID in Nevada and I urge you to reject it as well. REAL ID is an invasive de facto national identification card that still does not include adequate privacy protections and puts Nevadans’ due process rights at risk.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Legislative Commission’s Subcommittee to Review Regulations

Phone Numbers:

  • Assemblyman Marcus Conklin-Chairman: 702-363-3885-w
  • Senator Maggie Carlton: 702-452-3619-w
  • Senator Steven Horsford: 702-985-7535-w
  • Senator Randolph Townsend: 775-954-2020-w; 775-825-5111-h; 775-771-1555-cell
  • Senator Maurice Washington: 775-331-3826-w
  • Senator Joyce Woodhouse: 702-896-1453-h
  • Assemblyman John Carpenter: 775-738-9861-w; 775-738-9861-h
  • Assemblywoman Marilyn Kirkpatrick: 702-655-0332-h; 702-767-1315-cell
  • Alternate: Assemblyman James Settelmeyer: 775-265-7739-h; 775-450-6114-cell

Email Addresses: mconklin@asm.state.nv.us, mcarlton@sen.state.nv.us, shorsford@sen.state.nv.us, rtownsend@sen.state.nv.us, mwashington@sen.state.nv.us, jwoodhouse@sen.state.nv.us, jcarpenter@asm.state.nv.us, mkirkpatrick@asm.state.nv.us, jsettelmeyer@asm.state.nv.us

Stay informed

ACLU of Nevada is part of a network of affiliates

Learn more about ACLU National